The girl with the Lower Back Tattoo – Amy Schumer

amyschumer

SynopsisV2

The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Inside Amy Schumer and the acclaimed film Trainwreck has taken the entertainment world by storm with her winning blend of smart, satirical humor. Now, Amy Schumer has written a refreshingly candid and uproariously funny collection of (extremely) personal and observational essays.

In The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy mines her past for stories about her teenage years, her family, relationships, and sex and shares the experiences that have shaped who she is – a woman with the courage to bare her soul to stand up for what she believes in, all while making us laugh.

Ranging from the raucous to the romantic, the heartfelt to the harrowing, this highly entertaining and universally appealing collection is the literary equivalent of a night out with your best friends – an unforgettable and fun adventure that you wish could last forever. Whether she’s experiencing lust-at-first-sight while in the airport security line, sharing her own views on love and marriage, admitting to being an introvert, or discovering her cross-fit instructor’s secret bad habit, Amy Schumer proves to be a bighearted, brave, and thoughtful storyteller that will leave you nodding your head in recognition, laughing out loud, and sobbing uncontrollably – but only because it’s over.

myopinion

I have wanted to read this book for a loooooong time. I have always been fond of Amy Schumer ever since I discovered her. There is just something about her. She’s brutally honest and relatable in so many ways. I didn’t really know what to expect with this book because I only read one « celebrity » book before and it was really bad. Still, I took a chance here and it was worth it. Good job Amy! (as if you needed my approval… and as If she were reading this^^)

I felt like I just got out of one long talk with a friend.  She just states things as they are, standing in her truth. I laughed a lot, looked up for her sometimes, and I cried… A little. Well, this is not just a funny book about her crazy sex &love experiences (of course there are some of those which are hilarious!), or about her weight issues (by the way why does people always feel the need to talk about her weight when there is so much more to say about her than that?).

« We took off and I pretended to be really scared of flying. There was zero turbulence, yet I still found reasons to grab his arm and bury my face in his shoulder, inhaling his scent. I was blatantly throwing myself at him and we both laughed at how aggressive I was being. » – The only one-night stand

This book is not just a bunch of funny stories. It’s her story, who she is. She’s not that super hero funny and happy all the time. She had her hard times, she fought to get where she is. She has her flaws, of course she’s far from perfect (and she constantly repeats it) but she’s come a long way and somehow, now she knows who she is and wants to be.

I know my worth. I embrace my power. I say if I’m beautiful. I say if I’m strong. You will not determine my story. I will. I’ll speak and share and fuck and love, and I will never apologize for it. I am amazing for you, not because of you. I am not who I sleep with. I am not my weight. I am not my mother. I am myself. And I am all of you.

There are so many things to say about this book actually : how she made it in the business, the stories of her childhood, her strong opinion (which I share) about gun control, her lists (I love lists!), her references (either books, series or movies – We girls can relate). But if I had to share the strongest moment of the book it would be this one. Because it is true and I think that we should share it to girls and women. (this was my #feminist moment).

« (…) There are lots of « firsts » like this in life, little flashpoint here and there when you’re unknowingly becoming a woman. And it’s not cliché shit, like when you have your first kiss or drive your first car. You become a woman the first time you stand up for yourself when they get your order wrong at a dinner, or when you first realize your parents are full of shit. (…) The first time your heart breaks. The first time you break someone else’s heart. The first time someone you love dies. The first time you lie and make yourself look bad so a friend you love can look better. And less dramatic things are meaningful too, like the first time a guy tries to put a finger in your ass. The first time you express the reality that you don’t want that finger in your ass. That you really don’t want anything in your ass at all. (…) You will remember all these moments later as the moments that made you the woman you are. Everyone tells you it happens when you get your first period, but really it happens when you insert your first tampon and teach your best friend to do the same ».

I couldn’t have said it better myself. Share the word ladies.

inconclusion

She’s a woman I really would love to meet, with strong opinions and that is not afraid anymore to stand up for what she believes in. I must say I’m impressed and I respect her all the more. I strongly advise you to read this book. 🙂

Nota Bene To read in your private jet on your way to Amy Schumer’s show!

My grade :

quatresurcinq


Editeur : GALLERY BOOKS
Date parution : 16/08/16
ISBN : 9781501139888
Nb de pages : 336 pages

 

2 réflexions sur “The girl with the Lower Back Tattoo – Amy Schumer

  1. Pingback: 30 ans, 10 ans de thérapie – Nora Hamzawi | le petit crayon

  2. Pingback: Ho Ho Ho : La Wish-list de Noël | le petit crayon

Laisser un commentaire

